top of page

Allergens in Wines and Spirits

Under the EU Food Information for Consumers Regulation (December 2014) we are now required to provide information on the allergenic ingredients included on the labels of the products we supply.  Of the 14 allergens specified under the regulation, those which will most often apply to our products are:

Wine: Egg and milk products used as finings in wine (generally egg albumen in red wine and milk casein in white) and also sulphur dioxide

Spirits and liqueurs: If any of the ingredients are included in the allergen list and are part of the flavour in their natural form, the label will say this. Where the distillate (spirit) or liqueur contains a redistilled extract of, for example, tree nuts or milk, these do not require notification as the active allergen is denatured.

Please note that there is no requirement for labels of pre-2012 vintage to refer to allergens, therefore you should not assume that they are allergen-free.

We are happy to provide allergen information on our products upon request. If you have any questions regarding allergens and how they may affect your health please contact your doctor.

bottom of page